The Leading Edge - August 2023

By Leadership Johnson County | | 8.9.23

Updates From Tandy

Leadership Johnson County Indiana

We are busy here at Leadership Johnson County! Here are few updates to share:

Our offices have moved. We are now located at 63 Henry Street in Franklin. We have almost everything unpacked and should be up and running 100 percent in the next week or so.

The Youth Leadership Academy kicked-off its 2023-2024 Class on July 29. What an incredible group of young leaders we have again this year! Matt Bean (2019) is serving as the YLA Coordinator this year. Please congratulate him and wish him well at

We have new board members. We would like to welcome the following people to the LJC Board: Jackie Briggs (2021), Tom Brodbeck (2022), Terri Helmsing (2023), Nora Hoover (2023), Ron Rose (2012), Matt Smarelli (2010) and Steve Wohlford. Please congratulate these incredible leaders when you see them!

Board elects leadership. Tim Thurston (2019) has been elected as Board President for the 2023-2024 year and he is joined by Jason Benson (2018) as Vice President. We know we are in excellent hands with these two amazing leaders!

You can help LJC programs on our Amazon Wish List. We put together a wish list of snacks for the Signature and Youth Programs. As we all know, the cost of food has skyrocketed and LJC could use your help providing snacks for our program participants. Amazon Wish List for Snacks for Signature and Youth Programs - You can mail those to 63 Henry Street in Franklin, IN 46131 – and they will come straight to our front porch.

Soda Drive is under way. LJC also provides sodas for our program participants. We would love to get some soda donations again this year. You can drive by 63 Henry Street on August 22 from 7:30 a.m. – 9:00 a.m. or from 4:00 p.m. – 5:30 p.m. We would love to get any of the following: Pepsi, Diet Pepsi, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Coke Zero, Dr. Pepper and Diet Dr. Pepper. I can make other arrangements to pick up soda donations from you as well – just let me know.

Join us for our LJC Class of 2024 Welcome Breakfast. Save the date for our Class of 2024 Welcome Breakfast from 7:30 a.m. to 8:30 a.m. at Compass Park in Franklin. This event will take place on Friday, Sept. 8 and is free. This Welcome Breakfast is sponsored by Compass Pointe CPAs and First Merchants Bank.

I hope to see you soon and I hope you are leading a leadership lifestyle!

Always grateful,

Tandy L. Shuck, Executive Director


Sunset Soirée - August 17

A Spirit Tasting Event

You are invited to attend our Sunset Soirée from 6 to 9 p.m. on August 17 at The Barn at Crystal Spring in Franklin. This Spirit Tasting event will provide an evening of entertainment, food and spirit tasting.

Tickets are $75 per person or you can purchase a VIP ticket for $100 per person. Tickets include spirit tastings and a food voucher for a meal from one of two food trucks. The VIP ticket will allow you access to an area that provides tastings of top shelf/exclusive spirits.

This event is sponsored by CrossRoad Engineers, PC and Kovacs Enterprises.


Leadership Johnson County

Select Workshops

LJC Select Workshops offer a variety of programs in different areas of business, management, leadership, communication and nonprofit governance. Workshops are targeted at different levels of management and experience, so there is something for everyone. 


Lunch & Learn Workshops

Finding time for continuing professional development can be difficult during different seasons of your career. These sessions are designed to help busy leaders stay connected. These workshops will include a variety of topics and speakers in a one-hour, virtual format.


Leadership Johnson County
2023-2024 On-Demand Punch Cards Available

Your business or nonprofit will benefit from professional development opportunities throughout the year by purchasing an LJC On-Demand Punch Card. The LJC Punch Card provides 14 punches to be used in any combination of LJC Select Workshops. The Mini-Punch Card offers 7 punches. Enjoy maximum flexibility to mix and match seats, share within your organization, or with friends.


Alumni News
Leadership Johnson County

Tim Edsell (2017) is the new superintendent of the Clark-Pleasant Community School Corporation. Edsell had been the superintendent at Indian Creek schools for the last nine years.


Benji Betts (2005) has been named Executive Director of Operations at Franklin Community Schools. He comes from Franklin after serving as Principal at Whiteland Community High School. 


Melissa Frenia Winslow (2009) has been named president of the Center Grove Rotary Club.

Hannah Griggs (23) recently joined the staff at Whiteland High School serving as a teacher. LJC would like to thank her for her year of service with us and we wish her the very best as she follows her dream of working in the classroom. You can send notes of congratulations to

Kinley Shoemaker (YLA Class of 2022) was named Miss Teen Indiana USA. She will compete in the Miss Teen USA pageant later this year. Kinley will be attending Butler University this fall. 

Workshops at Your Workplace
Leadership Johnson County

Enjoy the same professional training we offer in our Leadership Johnson County events.

We have a team of content experts that will deliver the training to your team, in your setting and around your schedule. 

We provide half- and full-day workshops during times convenient for you. Review our list of offerings and contact us today for more information.


Leadership Champions Plus

Logo for Campbell Shuck Insurance
Logo for Carpenter Realtors
Logo for Clever Dogs Media
Logo for Compass Point CPAs
Logo for Crossroads Engineers, P.C.
Logo for Diamond Glassworks and Aluminum Systems
Logo for Endress Hauser
Logo for First Merchants Bank
Logo for Franklin Indiana
Logo for Horizon Bank
Logo for Indiana Funeral Care
Logo for Johnson County Community Foundation
Logo for Johnson County REMC
Logo for Johnson Memorial Health
Logo for Johnson, Gray & Johnson
Logo for Lake City Bank
Logo for MIBOR Realtor Association
Logo for Main & Madison Market Café
Logo for Modern Woodmen Fraternal Financial
Logo for Mutual Savings Bank
Logo for NSK
Logo for PNC Bank
Logo for Williams Barrett Wilkowski