Youth Leadership Academy

Cultivate, Develop Young Citizens

About the Program

The Leadership Johnson County Youth Leadership Academy is a five-month program designed to bring together a select group of Johnson County High School students to learn more about their community and practice leadership skills in a fun learning environment.

Each program day is designed to foster an opportunity for increased self-awareness, a better understanding of the local community and an opportunity to meet and network with peers from across Johnson County. Modeled after the LJC Signature Program, the Youth Leadership Academy will provide students with an extraordinary opportunity for in-depth leadership training from experts around the state.

Youth Leadership Program participants will:

  • Network with community leaders and peers.
  • Practice project management skills through a community project of their own design.
  • Participate in the True Colors personality assessment and have an opportunity to participate in MBTI.
  • Learn more about Johnson County's history and current county government.
  • Upon completion of the program, students will earn 1 college credit at Franklin College. 

Program Requirements

Youth Leadership Academy participants must:

  • Attend an opening retreat in late July.
  • Attend 4 regularly scheduled class dates throughout the year.
  • Attend and present at the graduation celebration.
  • Complete a community service project.
Leadership Johnson County
  • Applicants must be a sophomore or junior at the time of application completion.
  • Class members must commit to full participation in the program.
  • Class members must agree to abide by all LJC – Youth Leadership Academy policies and procedures.
  • Must be a resident of Johnson County or attend a high school located in Johnson County.

I joined so that I could learn how to be a better leader for the people around me and become a better person overall.


Franklin Community High School

Take the Next Steps

Application Process

Applications MUST be typed and submitted online. Hand-written applications will not be accepted. All applications must be submitted prior to March 12, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. to be considered for admission to our program.


Selection Process

A review committee appointed by the LJC Board of Trustees will select participants based on the COMPLETED application.

Your selection into the class is based upon your application.

You are encouraged to be DETAILED and use this opportunity to highlight your passions and achievements.


The cost to participate in the 2023-2024 Leadership Johnson County Youth Leadership Academy is $400.

Tuition is due in full by July 15. There are no refunds after this date.

A non-refundable deposit of $50 is required at the time of acceptance into the program. The deposit is included in the full tuition amount.

Scholarships are available for up to approximately 60 percent of tuition cost. Scholarship applications are available online or by contacting us.

Payment plans can be arranged. Credit cards are accepted.

2023-2024 Programs

Saturday, July 29, 2023, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Tuesday, September 12, 2023, 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, November 14, 2023, 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m

Sunday, January 14, 2024, 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.

Tuesday, February 20, 2024, 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 16, 2024, 8 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Tuesday, April 23, 2024, 6:30 p.m. to 8 p.m.

Leadership Johnson County Indiana
Leadership Johnson County Indiana

Nominate Someone

Do you know a high school student who would benefit from our Youth Leadership Academy? If you wish to recommend a candidate for our next class, please fill out the form. Applicants that are nominated will receive an application with a note regarding who nominated them for participation.

I wanted to get outside of my comfort zone and learn to be a better leader for my community. LJC has done all of that and so much more.


Whiteland Community High School

Class of 2022-2023

Haley Achs Whiteland High School

Maya Alvey Franklin Community High School

Elise Armstrong Center Grove High School

Jenna Blue Whiteland High School

Kalyn Bryant Franklin Community High School

Liam Clarke Franklin Community High School

Allison Cohen Center Grove High School

Kalyn Dickey Franklin Community High School

Kara Dougherty Whiteland High School

Hannah Emenhiser Indian Creek High School

Adalye Fisher Whiteland High School

Luke Fisher Franklin Community High School

Will Fosnot Center Grove High School

Miles Furnee Home School

McKinley Garrett Whiteland High School

Shelby Gill Franklin Community High School

Quentin Gray Indian Creek High School

Shawn Grider Franklin Community High School

Camille Grove Center Grove High School

Emma Gunn Whiteland High School

Amber Hayden Greenwood High School

Elizabeth Hayden Center Grove High School

Katie Heminger Indian Creek High School

Karley Hoagland Whiteland High School

Charlotte Hollingshead Greenwood High School

Hannah Hrankowsky Whiteland High School

Camryn Jones Greenwood High School

Jaskeerat Kaur Whiteland High School

Elsie Kerr Roncalli High School

Eli Lengacher Home School

Devyn Milburn Edinburgh High School

Carmine Mina Greenwood Christian Academy

Ashley Mitchell Center Grove High School

Hailey Pemberton Indian Creek High School

Charlotte Ray Whiteland High School

Statler Schmidt Franklin Community High School

Joey Schmitz Center Grove High School

Keely Skobel Indian Creek High School

Elliot Spangler Whiteland High School

Madelyn Sponsel Center Grove High School

Ryan St. Pierre Center Grove High School

Amelia Tisdale Franklin Community High School

Jack Titzer Greenwood High School

Cameron Waddick Center Grove High Schoo

Leadership Johnson County
Leadership Johnson County
Leadership Johnson County

Leadership Champions Plus

Logo for Carpenter Realtors
Logo for CenterPoint Energy
Logo for Endress Hauser
Logo for Johnson County Community Foundation
Logo for Johnson County REMC
Logo for Johnson Memorial Health
Logo for Lake City Bank
Logo for NSK
Logo for Practical Paradigms